Game #124 The Nats are back in Miami!

Photo by Sol Tucker for TalkNats

The Washington Nationals are back in Miami, or actually they were back in Miami Sunday night, and enjoyed a day-off yesterday by what we could see on social media. Today, the team is back to work.

The Nats have beaten the Marlins in seven of ten games this season, but both teams are at the bottom of the NL East and were sellers at the trade deadline.

On the mound for the Nats is Erick Fedde, and Miami has a familiar pitcher going with ex-Nats farmhand, lefty Jesús Luzardo, who the Nats traded in a blockbuster package for Sean Doolittle. For a while, Luzardo was the top left-handed prospect in baseball. He has dealt with some injuries and was dealt at the trade deadline to the Marlins for Starling Marte. Speaking of Doolittle, he was DFA’d by the Reds today.

The Nats had their own DFA’s today. Most were in the minor leagues, and Jefry Rodriguez was DFA’d today by the Nats in one of dozens of roster moves within the system. Back is lefty reliever Sam Clay, and gone is Gabe Klobosits who will be headed back to Triple-A Rochester. The other MLB move was calling up new acquisition Patrick Murphy. He was acquired through a waiver claim from Toronto just ten days ago.

Additionally the Nats made several key minor league moves including promotions of both Cade Cavalli and Seth Romero to Triple-A Rochester.

For manager Dave Martinez‘s lineup, you will note Lane Thomas is back in there at lead-off and playing centerfield with Victor Robles on the bench. According to Martinez, Robles has been under the weather. Well, it’s been four days without Robles. That must be quite the “under the weather” situation.

Washington Nationals vs. Miami Marlins
Stadium: Loan Depot Park, Miami, Florida
1st Pitch:  7:10 pm EDT
TV: MASN2, Bally Sports Florida, MLB.TV
Nats Radio: 106.7 FM The Fan; SiriusXM® ( Streaming Internet 869)

Line-ups subject to change without notice:

1. Lane Thomas – CF
2. Alcides Escobar – SS
3. Juan Soto – RF
4. Ryan Zimmerman – 1B
5. Carter Kieboom – 3B
6. Yadiel Hernandez – LF
7. Tres Barrera – C
8. Luis García – 2B
9. Erick Fedde – RHP

This entry was posted in InGame. Bookmark the permalink.